Base Template Banner/
Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees defines and approves the policies and strategic direction of AIMS-Ghana. It appoints a chair from within its membership and, in collaboration with the AIMS-NEI Secretariat, appoints the Centre Director. Members of the Board of Trustees include:

  • Edward Ayensu (Board Chair) - Chairman of Council for Scientific and Industrial Research; President of the Pan-African Union for Science and Technology; Former Director of the Smithsonian Institute
  • Francis K.A. Allotey - President, Ghana Academy of Arts & Sciences; President of African Physical Society; Interim President of the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences; Honorary Fellow, UK Institute of Physics (IOP)
  • Neil Turok - Director of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics; Chair of the AIMS-NEI Board, Founder of AIMS
  • Sylvester James Gates - Professor of Physics; Director, Centre for String and Particle Theory, University of Maryland. Member of the President’s Council of Scientific Advisors
  • Andrew A. Davis - Cardiologist, Mercy Hospital, Chicago; Founder and President of the Saltpond Redevelopment Institute (SRI)
  • Esi Awuah - Vice Chancellor, Unversity of Energy and Natural Resources, Ghana
aims_cameroon aims_senegal aims_south_africa AIMS-Tanzania